Veda And Vedanta - A Journey towards Illumination

Veda And Vedanta - A Journey towards Illumination

When the whole world was living in nomadic conditions around 5000 to 6000 years back then Indian saints compiled Vedic scriptures. Ved and Vedanta are Indian Gifts to humanity although a large number of Indian’s are not aware of the depth of illumination in these books. Indian civilization is the oldest in the world. If you see the list of Indian scriptures, you will find a number of books written at different times. It shows that Indian Vedic books were part of the Curriculum in the education system which was conducted through Gurukuls and proper research and development used to be done on it. This education system was preserved and encouraged by different rulers.
The Vedas are the roots of Dharma. So these roots need to be preserved to remain alive. Veda is like Kalpa Vriksha which is capable to give whatever we desire. To protect Veda it needs to be constantly recited. Many organizations like Sathya Sai Seva Organisation etc are doing constant efforts by organizing seminars on it and trying to create awareness. 
Vedas are Apaurusheya (not authored by any particular person). These were communicated by one person to another through word of mouth. That’s why these are called “Shruti”. Just think about great India Memory power. Power of the mind. Today in the age of artificial intelligence we are choosing to lose this power/skill. In today’s age, Indian Corporate's feel proud in calling western consultants to educate their employees to improve their productivity. What’s a shame? There is nothing that is not available in Vedas from astronomy, medicine to astrology. Everything is there.  It’s an error in our thought process to believe that what we don’t believe does not exist.

Veda and Vedanga
Sage Vyas classified Vedas into 4 parts. Rig veda, Yajur veda, Sam veda and Atharveda. Yajurveda has two parts ie Krishna Yajurveda and Shukla Yajurveda. Krishna Yajurveda is practised in South India whereas Shukla Yajurveda is practised in the rest of India. There are multiple Upanishads on each Veda. Vedas have 3 sections Gyana, Upasna and Karma. They provided the basis for Adwait, Vishishth Advait and Dvait.

6 Vedanga's consists of Education (Shiksha), Kalp for right conduct, Grammer for discipline in writing and speech, Niruwat for Meanings, Chhand for recitation with right notes and Jyotish to see the meaningful.     
In the modern age, peoples think that Vedas contains myths. But the reality is different if you compare it you will find objective synergy with science. For a successful life, a person will need Kam, Artha, Dharma and Moksha at different phases of life. Without knowledge about the self, it is not possible. By knowing about Veda one can promote unity in diversity. Knowledge of Vedas was equally applicable in Karmaksetras like they were applicable in Kurukshetra. To know about thyself one has to know Vedas. 

Para and Apara Vidya
Vidya (knowledge) contains two parts i.e. Para Vidya and Apara Vidya. In a Simple sense, Apara Vidya is the stream of knowledge that facilitates a person to fulfil physical needs. Those who understand Astrology can relate it with the significations of planate Venus. It includes Science, Commerce, Arts etc.

On the other hand, Para Vidya contains deeper subjects on spirituality "Adhyatm". It is a stream of knowledge that enlightens our relations with God. Those who understand Astrology can relate it with the significations of planate Jupiter. It includes Part of Vedas and Upanishads.

Rig Veda is the oldest and largest Veda containing 10552 verses and mainly contains prayers and invocations connecting Humanity to Divinity. 
Samaveda contains 1873 verses mostly from Rgveda arranged wonderfully on musical notes. That's why Samaveda is known as the mother of Indian Music.  
Yajurveda contains 1976 verses for carrying out Yagnas and evoking divinity.
Atharva Veda contains 5038 verses and deals with the matter of science personality of nature, elements and modern aspects of society.

For Vedas contains 1180 known Upanishads, out of 4 Upanishads each belonging to one Veda contains four Mahavakya-  
1- PRAGNAANAM BRAHMA- (That ultimate is conscious-ness). Every aspect of the universe is filled with divinity. So the world is verily God. (Aitereya Upanishad” of Rig Veda).
2- AYAM ATMAA BRAHMA- (That ultimate is this self)God is everywhere but also here, very near
Upanishads: and in all of us, you and me in the form of “Atman” – the self, the soul or spirit.
The spirit  (Mandukya Upanishad” of Atharva Veda)
3-AHAM BRAHMASMI”-(That God is this me)-“I am no ordinary person. Great power is already hidden in me. I am verily a great powerful personality  (Brihad Aranyaka Upanishad” of Yajur Veda). 
4- TATTVAMASI. (You are God!) After one knows that consciousness is God, the self in all is god and
“me” is god, then one can reveal to the seeker by charging him and telling “you are God!”    (Chaandogya Upanishad” of Saama Veda).

This is the spirit of Veda. No conflict divinity everywhere.

So welcome on board.  We will go through different aspects of veda and Upanishad in our next section.

Post a Comment